PopLid 37/365 The Deformed Tree

Thanks to Sam Sapp for posting this picture of a bent and deformed tree in the metroparks. Wondering why it might have grown that way inspired the following poem:
“A careless hiker when I was young decided I was in his path.
He bent me ’till my back was broken, then cast me aside so he could pass.
I had no choice but to grow this way,
Painfully reaching for light and life,
Angrily struggling against rain and wind to regain my strength and poise.
And so I am here as you see me now
Twisted and bent by cruel life events.
But learn this please as you pass by
And see me in this extent, that,
Though my limbs be twisted, and my body bowed low, my spirit is upright and unbent!

Leave a Reply

