PopLid 56/365 The Side of the Road

Poetry Challenge Day 20

The Side of the Road

Here I stand while the others all go
Following Jesus on down the road.
They seem so certain, but I don’t know,
So I think I’ll just stand here awhile.

I have my stuff an I have my pride,
It’s hard to set them both aside
And throw in with that praying tide,
So I think I’ll just stand here awhile.

I stand in silence while they all sing,
Letting their spirits take to their wing,
Seems a little silly, don’t you think,
So I think I’ll just stand here awhile.

While they all pray I’ll bow my head
And think of all that lies ahead,
Secure in health and wealth and bed,
So I think I’ll just stand here awhile.

Then some day soon, when I get old,
With only a lonely death to behold,
Too weak and tired to join the fold,
I’ll just die here, on the side of the road.

Frank Lid …………………….. 9/11/2005
Revisited ……………………………4/27/2017

Leave a Reply

